*A special NFL choir made up of 32 retired league players sang “America the Beautiful” to a soulful arrangement by the 92-piece University of North Texas Symphony Orchestra that earned a standing ovation at the XLV Countdown live from Cowboys Stadium recently. The choir is called the NFL Players Choir.

“We were overwhelmed by the NFL Players Choir’s performance, and we are extremely glad we invited them to be a part of the Countdown,” said Kit Sawers, Vice President of Special Events for the North Texas Super Bowl XLV Host Committee. “It was fun to see those retired players in the stadium, on stage, garbed in choir robes and not on the field playing ball. The fans really enjoyed this special performance.”

The choir originally debut in 2008 under the direction of gospel singer, Donnie McClurkin.

“It was a great honor to have the Host Committee include the NFL Players Choir as a part of such a momentous event,” said Melanie Few-Harrison, President of Results Inc. and founder and executive producer of the Super Bowl Gospel Celebration. “This is the first time the choir has performed outside of SBGC, and as always, they were fantastic!”

The roster included Darren Carrington (Chargers/Broncos), Dextor Clinkscale (Cowboys), Marvin Cobb (Bengals, Steelers, Vikings), Don Davis (Patriots), M.E. Tony Davis (Bengals), Ebenezer Ekuban (Broncos), Marv Fleming (Packers/Dolphins),Darrell Green Washington Football Team), M. L. Harris (Bengals), J.D. Hill (Bills), Roy Jefferson (Steelers/Colts/Redskins), Ray Jackson (Bengals/Titans), Olrick Johnson (Patriots), Sydney Justin (Rams), Eddie Kennison (Chiefs/Rams), Henry Lawrence (Raiders), Larry Lee (Eagles), Eugene Lockhart (Cowboys/Patriots), Larry Mallory (Giants), Mike Martin (Bengals), Stockar McDougle (Lions), Michael Merriweather (Steelers/Vikings/Jets/Packers), Drew Pearson (Cowboys), Steve Pierce (Browns), Marcus Price (Chargers/Bills/Saints), Isaiah Robertson (Rams/Bills), Je’Mone Smith (Eagles), Neil Smith (Chiefs/Broncos/Chargers), Otto Stowe (Cowboys) and Tim Watson