Fences,” a revival of August Wilson’s drama about family, won for best revival of a play at Sunday’s 2010 Tony Awards, while its two stars, Denzel Washington and Viola Davis, won for best actors in a play.

The broadcast was packed with musical performances from nominated shows, including “Memphis,” the rhythm ‘n’ blues musical set in the Civil Rights era, which won four Tonys, including best musical.

“Fela!” — the innovative Afro-beat biography of Nigerian superstar Fela Anikulapo-Kuti — had 11 nominations, but won just three: Bill T. Jones for best choreography, Robert Kaplowitz for best sound design of a musical and Marina Draghici for best costume design.

The final tally of winners follows:

Red – 6

Memphis – 4

Fences – 3

Fela – 3

La Cage aux Folles – 3

American Idiot – 2

A View from the Bridge – 1

Promises, Promises – 1

Million Dollar Quartet – 1

The Royal Family – 1

A Little Night Music – 1

Nominees and recipients of the 64th Annual Tony Awards follow, with recipients marked in bold and with an asterisk.

Best Musical

American Idiot



Million Dollar Quartet

Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Musical

Kelsey Grammer, La Cage aux Folles

Sean Hayes, Promises, Promises

*Douglas Hodge, La Cage aux Folles

Chad Kimball, Memphis

Sahr Ngaujah, Fela!

Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a Musical

Kate Baldwin, Finian’s Rainbow

Montego Glover, Memphis

Christiane Noll, Ragtime Sherie Rene Scott, Everyday Rapture

*Catherine Zeta-Jones, A Little Night Music

Best Revival of a Musical

Finian’s Rainbow

*La Cage aux Folles

A Little Night Music


Best Play

In the Next Room or the Vibrator Play

Author: Sarah Ruhl

Next Fall

Author: Geoffrey Nauffts


Author: John Logan

Time Stands Still

Author: Donald Margulies

Best Revival of a Play


Lend Me a Tenor

7 The Royal Family

A View From the Bridge

Best Choreography

Rob Ashford, Promises, Promises

*Bill T. Jones, Fela!

Lynne Page, La Cage aux Folles

Twyla Tharp, Come Fly Away

Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Play

Jude Law, Hamlet

Alfred Molina, Red

Liev Schreiber, A View from the Bridge

Christopher Walken, A Behanding in Spokane

*Denzel Washington, Fences

Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a Play

*Viola Davis, Fences

Valerie Harper, Looped

Linda Lavin, Collected Stories

Laura Linney, Time Stands Still

Jan Maxwell, The Royal Family

Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a Musical

Kevin Chamberlin, The Addams Family

Robin De Jesús, La Cage aux Folles

Christopher Fitzgerald, Finian’s Rainbow

*Levi Kreis, Million Dollar Quartet

Bobby Steggert, Ragtime

Best Performance by a Featured Actress in a Musical

Barbara Cook, Sondheim on Sondheim

*Katie Finneran, Promises, Promises

Angela Lansbury, A Little Night Music

Karine Plantadit, Come Fly Away

Lillias White, Fela!

Best Direction of a Musical

Christopher Ashley, Memphis

Marcia Milgrom Dodge, Ragtime

*Terry Johnson, La Cage aux Folles

Bill T. Jones, Fela!

Best Direction of a Play

*Michael Grandage, Red

Sheryl Kaller, Next Fall

Kenny Leon, Fences

Gregory Mosher, A View from the Bridge

Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a Play

David Alan Grier, Race

Stephen McKinley Henderson, Fences

Jon Michael Hill, Superior Donuts

Stephen Kunken, Enron

*Eddie Redmayne, Red

Best Performance by a Featured Actress in a Play

Maria Dizzia, In the Next Room or the Vibrator Play

Rosemary Harris, The Royal Family

Jessica Hecht, A View from the Bridge

*Scarlett Johansson, A View from the Bridge

Jan Maxwell, Lend Me a Tenor

Best Sound Design of a Musical

Jonathan Deans, La Cage aux Folles

*Robert Kaplowitz, Fela!

Dan Moses Schreier and Gareth Owen, A Little Night Music

Dan Moses Schreier, Sondheim on Sondheim

Best Sound Design of a Play

Acme Sound Partners, Fences

Adam Cork, Enron

*Adam Cork, Red

Scott Lehrer, A View from the Bridge

Best Scenic Design of a Musical

Marina Draghici, Fela!

*Christine Jones, American Idiot

Derek McLane, Ragtime

Tim Shortall, La Cage aux Folles

Best Lighting Design of a Musical

*Kevin Adams, American Idiot

Donald Holder, Ragtime

Nick Richings, La Cage aux Folles

Robert Wierzel, Fela!

Best Lighting Design of a Play

Neil Austin, Hamlet

*Neil Austin, Red

Mark Henderson, Enron

Brian MacDevitt, Fences

Best Scenic Design of a Play

John Lee Beatty, The Royal Family

Alexander Dodge, Present Laughter

Santo Loquasto, Fences

*Christopher Oram, Red

Best Costume Design of a Musical

*Marina Draghici, Fela!

Paul Tazewell, Memphis

Matthew Wright, La Cage aux Folles

Best Costume Design of a Play

Martin Pakledinaz, Lend Me a Tenor

Constanza Romero, Fences

David Zinn, In the Next Room or the Vibrator Play

*Catherine Zuber, The Royal Family

Best Book of a Musical

Everyday Rapture

Dick Scanlan and Sherie Rene Scott


Jim Lewis and Bill T. Jones


Joe DiPietro

Million Dollar Quartet

Colin Escott and Floyd Mutrux

Best Original Score (Music and/or Lyrics) Written for the Theatre

The Addams Family

Music & Lyrics: Andrew Lippa Enron

Music: Adam Cork

Lyrics: Lucy Prebble


Music: Branford Marsalis


Music: David Bryan

Lyrics: Joe DiPietro, David Bryan

Best Orchestrations

Jason Carr, La Cage aux Folles

Aaron Johnson, Fela!

Jonathan Tunick, Promises, Promises

*Daryl Waters & David Bryan, Memphis

The 2010 Tony Awards for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre were presented to playwright and director Alan Ayckbourn, and Tony Award-winning actress Marian Seldes.

The recipient of the Isabelle Stevenson Award is Tony Award winner David Hyde Pierce. The Isabelle Stevenson Award recognizes an individual from the theatre community “who has made a substantial contribution of volunteered time and effort on behalf of one or more humanitarian, social service or charitable organizations, regardless of whether such organizations relate to the theatre.

This year’s Tony Honors are presented to The Alliance of Resident Theatres New York, B.H. Barry and BC/EFA executive director Tom Viola.

The Eugene O’Neill Theater Center in Waterford, CT, is the recipient of the 2010 Tony Award for Regional Theatre.