The 4th of July is a national U.S. holiday also commonly known as Independence Day. The 4th of July in 2013 falls on a Thursday.

The 4th of July celebrates the country’s Declaration of Independence from Great Britain on July 4, 1776. The actual legal separation of the former 13 colonies actually took place on July 2, 1776, but but the declaration document written by Thomas Jefferson (later the third president of the United States) was not ratified until two days later.

John Adams, later second president of the United States, wrote that “The second day of July, 1776, will be the most memorable epoch in the history of America. I am apt to believe that it will be celebrated by succeeding generations as the great anniversary festival. “

He was almost right, though the celebration has taken place on the 4th of July from the beginning. Early festivities often included 13-gun salutes, parades, and fireworks. Modern-day 4th of July celebrations still include the latter two.. The Macy’s 4th of July fireworks display in New York City is one of the biggest in the country and usually televised.

What Is the 4th Of July?  was originally published on

1 2Next page »

Also On Praise Houston:
2017 Stellar Gospel Music Awards [PHOTOS]
32nd Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards - Show
100 photos