Beginning Monday, new rules take effect regarding Texans who apply for a new driver’s license or ID card. Those persons will need to show proof that they have lived in the state at least 30 days under the new law. According to the Texas Department of Public Safety, applicants will now need to present two acceptable documents containing the applicant’s name and address to establish proof of residency in the state of Texas.
In order to meet the residency requirement for an original identification card or driver license, an applicant must:
-Reside in Texas for at least 30 days prior to application.
-Present two acceptable documents establishing proof of residency, one of which must demonstrate the applicant has lived in Texas at least 30 days.
The 30-day requirement is waived for residents who surrender a valid, unexpired out-of-state driver license; two documents establishing proof of residency are still required.
For a comprehensive list of acceptable residency documents and to get more information, visit the Texas Department of Safety.
New Rules For Texas Driver’s License, ID Card Take Effect was originally published on news92fm.com